My 2013 New Year’s Resolutions… Have You Written Yours?

How did you fare in 2012 with your genealogy? Reviewing my genealogical goals for 2012, I see that I fell just a smidge short of the 5 “must do” items that I put on my 2012 calendar page for January 1st.  Here’s a review of how I did and what I’m looking to do this year:

1) COMPLETE my CG application – Well, maybe not so bad for this item. I started “my clock” in May and have the binder setup with Req. 1-4 inside. I am rewriting my 2013 goal to complete Req. 5-7 and submit my portfolio.

2) RESTART my research business – This has been a slow process, but I’m making strides in increasing my client workload and other genealogical activities.  This blog is one of them!!

3) CREATE my business identity – Jersey Roots Genealogy has been an idea hanging around for awhile, but finally hit the ink through the creation of my FaceBook page and Twitter ID last May. For 2013, I will be continuing to communicate using these tools regularly.

4) REDESIGN genie website – This one is took a lot longer than I thought, but it finally made its online debut early last week.  Visit me @ www.jerseyrootsgenealogy.com

5) EDUCATION – enroll in online classes and attend an Institute course. Success can be claimed here. Took a Genetics class and attended Genealogical Research Institute of Pittsburgh (GRIP) in July. Yeah for me!  This year, I can already put an online class on the list “Professional Preparation and Practice”, enrolled in IGHR – Course 9: Five Civilized Tribes, and am in month 5 of ProGen Study Group 17.  Also, next month I’m looking to add registration for GRIP in July.

While my goals that I’ve list deal mainly with my genealogical business, I have begun a list for the research goals too.  Watch for it in February!

So, what are your 2013 genealogical goals?

2 thoughts on “My 2013 New Year’s Resolutions… Have You Written Yours?

  1. I puchased the kit but have not started the “clock”! I want to be uber organized before I begin. 🙂
    My parents are from New Jersey and I have a few Jersey postings on my site. Welcome to the Geneabloggers family.
    Regards,
    Theresa (Tangled Trees)

    • Theresa… thanks for the welcome!! I look forward to really growing this blog about NJ genealogy. 🙂

      Also, don’t be afraid to start the clock. Having a deadline is keeping me on track and anxious to submit the completed work. If I didn’t start the clock, I’m afraid that I’d keep pushing it off my “To Do” list.

Leave a Reply

